Bee Swarm Videos

I captured some incredible bee swarm videos this week! The first is a video of the swarm booking out of the hive. Turn the volume up to hear how loud they are. I could hear them from the other side of my property about 100 yards away and came running.

 

 

The bees have made landing on a nearby tree branch and are forming their swarm formation. It takes about 20 minutes for them to pour out of the hive to form their trademark tear drop formation.

Unfortunately, by the time I gathered my equipment to capture them, they decided to leave and I lost them. For more info on swarming, look at my post Swarming of the Bees. 

The last video is of the complete swarm which is pretty big!

About thegardendiaries

Claire Jones is a landscape and floral designer and owner of Claire Jones Landscapes, LLC. She designs and helps people to create their own personal outdoor oasis and loves to write about her gardening failures and successes.
This entry was posted in beekeeping and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bee Swarm Videos

  1. Carolyn Keenen says:

    This was incredible! Thanks for sharing this treasure !

    Via iPhone/CPK

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claire….this is amazing…..I have never seen a swarming..of the bees….I am in awhhhhhh!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda T says:

    Absolutely amazing. Thanks for sharing this since I don’t ever expect to see this in person. I really appreciate that you have shared this with everyone on your “blog”.

    Like

  4. Linda T says:

    Forgot………….after they swarm and form the cone. Then what?

    Like

  5. Hope I never see one for real. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Gillian says:

    We keep bees and they’ve swarmed a few times. It’s an amazing sight! And sound!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

