All Jammed Up! Easy and Delicious Tomato Jam

Use any variety of tomato for this jam

Use any variety of tomato for this jam

Tomato jam on a slab of bread

Tomato jam on a slab of bread

 

Yes, yes, I know tomatoes and jam is an oxymoron, but when I spotted a recipe for tomato jam that included chocolate, I was hooked. After all, I had tasted and enjoyed tomato sorbet which is another sweet treatment for my favorite garden edible, so I was willing to give jam a try.  To clinch the matter, the recipe called for 5 pounds of tomatoes which would put a dent in my accumulated stores on my kitchen counter.

The process of making tomato jam

The process of making tomato jam

The recipe that I found called for black brandywine tomatoes.  I did not grow that variety this year, so just used the various varieties that I had on hand.

Free-Printable-Recipe-Card-from-Home-Cooking-Memories1

I used an immersion blender to get most of the lumps out as it is so convenient and saves tremendously on cleanup. If you don’t have one, you could easily use a blender or food processor, but put an immersion blender on your Christmas list as it will make your cooking life sooo much easier.

Use an immersion blender to blend or put into a food processor

Use an immersion blender to blend or put into a food processor

I used my jam on freshly fried corn fritters and it was delicious!

Tomato jam on corn fritters

Tomato jam on corn fritters

About thegardendiaries

Claire Jones is a landscape and floral designer and owner of Claire Jones Landscapes, LLC. She designs and helps people to create their own personal outdoor oasis and loves to write about her gardening failures and successes.
This entry was posted in Cooking in the garden and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to All Jammed Up! Easy and Delicious Tomato Jam

  1. Judy says:

    how is it that tomatoes and jam is an oxymoron?

    Like

  2. That’s a new one for me. Tomato jam. I think I’ve lived a very sheltered life. Then adding chocolate to it sounds yummy. Thanks so much for the info and the recipe. I’m enlightened a bit today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

